Title Manuel qualité pour les filières cotonnières UEMOA
Abstract Under the EU Quality Support Programme, the Version 1 of the UEMOA Cotton Quality Manual was published in July 2006 in French, with the aim to help the cotton sector in UEMOA and other African countries. The UEMOA (L'Union Economique et Monetaire Ouest Africaine - West African Economic and Monetary Union) comprises 8 countries, including Benin, Burkina Faso, Côte d'Ivoire, Guinea Bissau, Mali, Niger, Senegal and Togo. An estimated fifteen million people work in the cotton sector in Africa. Ten million of these are in the UEMOA zone. UEMOA countries account for around 800,000 tons or 4% of the world annual cotton production.
The Manual consists of six documents, including one "Quality Plan" and five "Technical Guides", namely (1) Production of Quality Cotton, (2) Ginning of Quality Cotton, (3) African Cotton Quality Standards, (4) Classification of Cotton Fibre, and (5) Cotton Trade Practices. The "Quality Plan" is a transverse document, which contains the procedures associated to the implementation of the activities described in the five "Technical Guides". These six documents are complementary and constitute a complete set, packed inside a hardbound bookcase. They are used by all the stakeholders in the cotton sector in Africa as a practical tool and reference for continuous quality improvement and valorisation of cotton.
Date 2006
Language(s) French
Pages 361 pages
Price EURO 30.00
Order No. ID/434
ISBN 92-1-206191-5

Share this page on: