GROUP of 77 Vienna Chapter: handover ceremony

GROUP of 77 Vienna Chapter:  handover ceremony

VIENNA, 12 February 2020 – The Director General LI Yong participated in the handover ceremony of chairmanship of the Group of 77 (G-77). In an official event, Ambassador Ganeson Sivagurunathan, Permanent Representative of Malaysia, assumed the chairmanship of the G-77 Vienna Chapter for the first half of 2020, followed by Ambassador Maria Cleofe Natividad, Permanent Representative of the Philippines, who chairs the Group from July to the end of 2020. He succeeded Ambassador Omar Amer Youssef, Permanent Representative of Egypt.

The G-77 Vienna Chapter Secretariat, which is financed by UNIDO, focuses on the promotion of technical cooperation activities and international cooperation, and coordinates the work of the G-77 in Vienna, holding an average of 140 group meetings each year. The G-77 is the largest Inter-Governmental Organization of developing countries in the UN and as such it provides the means for the countries of the South to articulate and promote their collective economic interests and enhance their joint negotiating capacity on all major international economic issues within the UN system. The G-77 was established on 15 June 1964 and currently comprises 134 member countries. It also has chapters in New York, Geneva, Nairobi, Paris and Rome. The Executive Heads of UNOV (UNODC), IAEA and CTBTO also took part in the ceremony alongside the Director General Li.