

Distr. GENERAL

GC.9/16

3 December 2001

United Nations Industrial Development Organization

ORIGINAL: ENGLISH

GENERAL CONFERENCE

Ninth session Vienna, 3-7 December 2001

LISTS OF STATES INCLUDED IN ANNEX I TO THE CONSTITUTION OF UNIDO

Note by the Secretariat

- 1. Reference is made to the Lists of States included by the Depositary in Annex I to the Constitution of UNIDO, contained in document UNIDO/GC.1/3. According to Annex I to the Constitution, the Lists of States to be included by the Depositary (Secretary-General of the United Nations) in that Annex are the lists determined by the General Assembly of the United Nations for the purpose of section II, paragraph 4, of General Assembly resolution 2152 (XXI), as in effect on the date the Constitution entered into force, namely on 21 June 1985.
- 2. As of 3 December 2001, 169 States were Members of UNIDO. Of these, 167 are shown in the Lists of States to be included by the Depositary in Annex I to the Constitution (see overleaf). The following 2 States have become Members of UNIDO but are not yet included in any of those lists:

State Date of accession

Tajikistan Turkmenistan 9 June 1993 16 February 1995

Pursuant to paragraph 1 of Annex I to the Constitution, if a State not listed in any of those lists becomes a Member of UNIDO, the General Conference shall decide, after appropriate consultations, in which of those lists it is to be included. The matter was brought to the attention of the Conference at its ninth session for consideration.

3. The present note supersedes document IDB.24/23.

For reasons of economy, this document has been printed in a limited number. Delegates are kindly requested to bring their copies of documents to meetings.

France

A. States from List A of document UNIDO/GC.1/3

Afghanistan Equatorial Guinea Madagascar Senegal Sevchelles Algeria Eritrea Malawi Sierra Leone Angola Ethiopia Malaysia Somalia Bahrain Fiii Maldives South Africa Bangladesh Gabon Mali Sri Lanka Benin Gambia Mauritania Ghana Sudan Bhutan Mauritius Botswana Guinea Mongolia Swaziland

Syrian Arab Republic Guinea-Bissau Morocco Burkina Faso

Thailand Burundi India Mozambique Cambodia Indonesia Myanmar Togo Cameroon Iran (Islamic Republic of) Namibia Tonga Cape Verde Nepal Tunisia Iraq Israel Niger Uganda

Central African Republic United Arab Emirates Jordan Nigeria Chad United Republic China Kazakhstan Oman of Tanzania Comoros Kenva Pakistan Papua New Guinea Uzbekistan Congo Kuwait Côte d'Ivoire Kyrgyzstan Philippines Vanuatu Democratic People's Oatar Viet Nam

Lao People's Democratic Republic of Korea Republic Republic of Korea Yemen Democratic Republic of Lebanon Rwanda Zambia the Congo Lesotho Sao Tome Zimbabwe

Djibouti Liberia and Principe Saudi Arabia Libyan Arab Jamahiriya Egypt

Luxembourg

B. States from List B of document UNIDO/GC.1/3

Austria Germany Malta Sweden Belgium Greece Netherlands Switzerland Cyprus Ireland New Zealand Turkey United Kingdom of Denmark Italy Norway Great Britain and Finland Japan Portugal Northern Ireland

C. States from List C of document UNIDO/GC.1/3

Spain

Saint Vincent and Argentina Cuba Honduras Bahamas Dominica the Grenadines Jamaica Dominican Republic Suriname Barbados Mexico Trinidad and Tobago Belize Ecuador Nicaragua

Uruguay Bolivia El Salvador Panama

Venezuela Brazil Grenada Paraguay Chile Guatemala Penu

Colombia Guyana Saint Kitts and Nevis

Costa Rica Haiti Saint Lucia

D. States from List D of document UNIDO/GC.1/3

Slovenia Albania Croatia Poland

Republic of Moldova The former Yugoslav Armenia Czech Republic Republic of Macedonia Azerbaijan Georgia Romania

Ukraine Hungary Russian Federation Belarus

Yugoslavia Bosnia and Herzegovina Lithuania Slovakia Bulgaria